gaza war

UJA Fed-NY flies 27 Jewish leaders to Israel


UJA-Federation of New York led a coalition of 28 metro area rabbis and other Jewish leaders to aid those impacted by the war with Hamas.

The delegation landed in Israel on Monday and were planning to travel through Wednesday, visiting numerous communities to provide support and trauma assistance to evacuees and families of hostages and engaging in chaplaincy work at major medical centers.

The delegation comprises rabbis and Jewish leaders from diverse backgrounds, including 11 Orthodox, six Conservative, five Reform, and one Reconstructionist leader. They represent synagogues and organizations from all five boroughs in New York City, as well as Long Island and Westchester.

Rabbi Menachem Creditor, the Pearl and Ira Meyer scholar-in-residence at UJA, and Alex Roth-Kahn, managing director of UJA’s Caring Department, are traveling with the delegation.

“As Israel mourns in the aftermath of the barbaric terror attack committed on innocent Israeli civilians, it is vital for Israelis to know that American Jewry is here to support them,” said Rabbi Creditor. “My heart is in pain as I make this trip to Israel, but we as clergy are ready to serve and stand in solidarity with our Israeli brothers and sisters during this painful time.”

Since the attack on Israel on Oct. 7, UJA has allocated more than $37 million to meet emergency needs related to the war.

Participating Jewish leaders include:

Erica Brown: Yeshiva University

Aaron Brusso: Bet Torah

Angela Buchdahl: Central Synagogue

Eliezer Buechler: Columbia/Barnard Hillel – The Kraft Center for Jewish Student Life

Carie Carter: Park Slope Jewish Center

Michelle Dardashti: Kane Street Synagogue

Joshua Davidson: Temple Emanu-El

Steven Exler: Hebrew Institute of Riverdale

Naphtali Harcsztark: SAR Academy and High School

Richard Hidary: Sephardic Synagogue

Jonathan Jaffe: Beth El of Northern Westchester

Orit Lender: Joan & Alan Bernikow JCC of Staten Island

Jonathan Leener: Prospect Heights Shul

Yosie Levine: The Jewish Center

Serge Lippe: Brooklyn Heights Synagogue

Liana Meirom Asif: The Jewish Agency for Israel/UJA-Federation

Shlomo Nisanov: Kehilat Sephardim of Ahavat Achim

Harry Pell: The Leffell School

David Schuck: Beth El Synagogue Center

Daniel Sherman: West Side Institutional Synagogue

Jodie Siff: Reconstructionist Synagogue of the North Shore

Noam Silverman: Abraham Joshua Heschel School

Benjamin Skydell: Congregation Orach Chaim

Joshua Stanton: East End Temple

Annie Tucker: Temple Israel Center

Elie Weinstock: Jewish Center Atlantic Beach