HAFTR students commended


Four students at the Hebrew Academy of the Five Towns and Rockaway have been named Commended Students in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program.

HAFTR Principal Naomi Lippman said the four are Arieh Chaiken, Benjamin Gottesman, Miriam Kopyto and Rafael Levin.

“The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for NMSC. Although they will not continue in the 2018 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students.